The 13th Floor’s Top 13 Albums of 2011

OK folks, here’s the 13th Floor’s top albums of the year. All in all, a pretty good year, although there wasn’t anything particularly new and fresh happening. Nevertheless, there was plenty of good songwriting going down, which is why Dave Alvin gets the top spot. Every song on Eleven Eleven is a beauty. The former Blaster really knows how to tell a story in song. Not only that, he’s a wonderful singer and a darn good guitar player. Here’s the list with links to the 13th Floor reviews:

1. Eleven Eleven – Dave Alvin http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/dave-alvin-eleven-eleven-yep-roc/

2. The Whole Love – Wilco http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/wilco-the-whole-love-dbpmanti/

3. Ashes & Fire – Ryan Adams  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/ryan-adams-ashes-fire-pax-amcolumbiasony/

4. Bad As Me – Tom Waits  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/tom-waits-bad-as-me-anti/

5. El Camino – The Black Keys  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/the-black-keys-el-camino-nonesuch/

6. Demolished – Thurston Moore  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/thurston-moore-demolished-thoughts-matador/

7. Horses And High Heels – Marianne Faithfull  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/marianne-faithfull-horses-and-high-heels-shocknaive/

8. Free All Monsters – The Bats  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/the-bats-free-all-the-monsters-flying-nun/

9. Metals – Feist  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/feist-metals-universal/

10. Simple Math – Manchester Orchestra  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/manchester-orchestra-simple-math-favorite-gentlemencolumbia/

11. So Beautiful Or So What – Paul Simon  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/paul-simon-so-beautiful-or-so-what-album-review/

12. Hope Holiday – Lindon Puffin  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/lindon-puffin-hope-holiday-independent/

13. Colour Of The Trap – Miles Kane  http://13thfloor.co.nz/reviews/cd-reviews/miles-kane-colour-of-the-trap-columbia/

Honourable mention:

The Blackbird Diaries – Dave Stewart

The View Is Worth The Climb – Tim Finn

Cat’s Eyes – Cat’s Eyes

Go Go Boots – Drive-By Truckers

Hard Bargain – Emmylou Harris

Life Fantastic – Man Man

Only In Dreams – Dum Dum Girls

Helplessness Blues – Fleet Foxes

Blessed – Lucinda Williams

The Adults – The Adults

Let England Shake – P.J. Harvey

About these ads

Leave a comment

Filed under Album, Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s