13th Floor New Song Of The Day: Robert Plant – The May Queen

Despite his refusal to participate in any further Led Zeppelin reunions, it seems front man Robert Plant still has a bustle in his hedgerow. Witness his new single, The May Queen, a sly reference to Zeppelin’s Stairway To Heaven.

Robert Plant will release his 11th solo album, Carry Fire, on October 13th via Nonesuch Records. Joining Plant on the album are members of his band the Sensational Space Shifters, along with Chrissie Hynde who features in a version of Ersel Hickey’s Bluebirds Over The Mountain.

Here’s the tracklist for Carry Fire:

1. “The May Queen”
2. “New World…”
3. “Season’s Song”
4. “Dance With You Tonight”
5. “Carving Up the World Again… a Wall and Not a Fence”
6. “A Way With Words”
7. “Carry Fire”
8. “Bones of Saints”
9. “Keep it Hid”
10. “Bluebirds Over the Mountain”
11. “Heaven Sent”

Here’s the record company blurb:

CARRY FIRE, his eleventh solo album and first full-length release since 2014’s acclaimed LULLABY AND…THE CEASELESS ROAR, was produced by Plant in the west of England and Wales, at Top Cat studio in Wiltshire with additional recordings at Real World and Rockfield studios. As with LULLABY, Plant is accompanied by The Sensational Space Shifters: John Baggott, Justin Adams, Dave Smith and Liam “Skin” Tyson. Plant and the Space Shifters are also joined on CARRY FIRE by a number of special guests. Chrissie Hynde joins Plant on the duet ‘Bluebirds Over The Mountain’ (written by rockabilly legend Ersel Hickey and later recorded by both Richie Valens and The Beach Boys). Albanian cellist Redi Hasa performs on three tracks, as does the celebrated Seth Lakeman on viola and fiddle.

Plant, who lived in Texas for a time before returning to his native England three years ago, together with his friends, present the songs CARRY FIRE, melding unusual rhythms with naturalism and smouldering power.

“It’s about intention, I respect and relish my past works but each time I feel the lure and incentive to create new work. I must mix old with new. Consequently the whole impetus of the band has moved on its axis somewhat, the new sound and different space giving way to exciting and dramatic landscapes of mood, melody and instrumentation”.

Plant and the Space Shifters will celebrate CARRY FIRE’s release by beginning a world tour in November 2017, starting in UK & Ireland, and touring all corners of globe from thereon. Dates will be announced soon.

Pre-order CARRY FIRE here: https://WMNZ.lnk.to/RPCarryFirePR