13th Floor New Song Of The Day: U2 – Get Out Of Your Own Way

Love ’em or hate ’em, U2 are still with us, creating new music. This new single re-teams the Irish quartet with Kendrick Lamar.

Get Out Of Your Own Way is the latest glimpse of what will be on offer when U2 release their next full-length album, Songs Of Experience, on December 1st.

Here is the record company blurb:

Island Records today announced the release of Songs of Experience, the 14th studio album from U2, which contains 13 new songs and will be released on 1st December 2017 on digital and CD as Standard and Deluxe, and as a double vinyl album.

A new single – the second to be taken from the record – titled ‘Get Out Of Your Own Way’ is out now. First single ‘You’re The Best Thing About Me’ was released on 6th September and album track ‘The Blackout’ was previously released as a performance video in August.

Recorded in Dublin, New York and Los Angeles, Songs of Experience was completed earlier this year with its subject matter influenced by Brendan Kennelly’s advice to Bono, to “…write as if you’re dead”. The result is a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart: family, friends, fans, himself.

Songs Of Experience is the companion release to 2014’s Songs Of Innocence, the two titles drawing inspiration from a collection of poems, Songs of Innocence and Experience, by the 18th century English mystic and poet William Blake.

Produced by Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, with Steve Lillywhite, Andy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas, the album features a cover image by Anton Corbijn of band-members’ teenage children Eli Hewson and Sian Evans.

The full track listing for Songs of Experience is:

  1. Love Is All We Have Left
  2. Lights of Home
  3. You’re The Best Thing About Me
  4. Get out of Your Own Way
  5. American Soul
  6. Summer of love
  7. Red Flag Day
  8. The Showman (Little More Better)

9.The Little Things That Give You Away

  1. Landlady
  2. The Blackout
  3. Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way
  4. 13 (There is a Light)