Bloc Party – The Girls Are Fighting: New Song Of The Day

Bloc Party brings us The Girls Are Fighting in anticipation of their up coming album, Alpha Games.

That’s right! A new Bloc Party song today and a new album coming on April 29th. Here’s the record company blurb with more:

Bloc PartyBloc Party have shared their new single ‘The Girls Are Fighting’, the second track to be lifted from their forthcoming sixth studio album ALPHA GAMES, due April 29 via Infectious / BMG. ALPHA GAMES is the band’s first studio album since 2016’s HYMNS.

Following last November’s raucous ‘Traps’, ‘The Girls Are Fighting’ continues the band’s return to their classic sound – this time as Kele Okereke narrates a night out gone sour: “The bouncer’s made a movie, upload it to Worldstar … There’s blood on the dancefloor, extensions on the bar.”

Bloc PartyKele says of the track: “There was no specific incident that inspired this song – it was more a composite of lots of things I’ve seen over the years when being in clubs and seeing violence erupt with feuding love rivals. I’ve always had a slight obsession with those sorts of moments; like a fuse being lit, when actions turn from words into violence. You can learn a lot about who people really are in those moments.

“I think ‘The Girls Are Fighting‘ is kind of self-explanatory – someone’s been selling dreams to someone  they  shouldn’t  have  and  it’s  caught  up  with  them.  I  just  wanted  to  capture  that moment of going from naught to ten in an evening, in a sweaty nightclub. I’m really pleased with the arrangement for this track because it has this 1970s glam rock feel meets Adam Ant feel. I love what Louise is doing on the tom toms.”

It arrives accompanied by a high energy video featuring the band, taking place in the legendary Repton Boxing Club, an old Victorian Bath House in East London’s Bethnal Green turned boxing club, where the Kray twins famously trained.

To celebrate the release of ALPHA GAMES, Bloc Party will be touring the UK and Europe in May and June 2022, including a homecoming show at London’s Alexandra Palace. It will be their first tour since their huge 2019 shows, where they performed their seminal debut album Silent Alarm in full across the UK, Europe and North America.

Bloc PartyALPHA GAMES tracklisting

1. Day Drinker
2. Traps
3. You Should Know the Truth
4. Callum Is a Snake
5. Rough Justice
6. The Girls Are Fighting
7. Of Things Yet to Come
8. Sex Magik
9. By Any Means Necessary
10. In Situ
11. If We Get Caught
12. The Peace Offering