Bloc Party – Traps, 13th Floor’s new song of the day

Bloc Party come in hot with their new song. Traps is our first taste of their upcoming record Alpha Games.

Bloc PartyHey folks, check out the new visualiser from Bloc Party‘s new single Traps, read all about it in the record label blurb:

Today, Bloc Party have announced details of their forthcoming sixth studio album ALPHA GAMES, due April 29 2022 via Infectious / BMG. ALPHA GAMES is the band’s first studio album since 2016’s HYMNS.

Alongside the album announcement, Bloc Party has shared new single ‘Traps’ as the first taste of the upcoming record and revealed plans for the extensive UK and European tour.

Produced by Nick Launay and Adam Greenspan (Nick Cave, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, IDLES), ‘Traps’ sees the band returning to the raucous, high-octane sound of their earliest work in an outburst of propulsive post-punk.

Speaking of the new single, Bloc Party singer, songwriter and guitarist Kele Okereke says: “From the moment we wrote ‘Traps’, we knew it had to be the first thing people heard from this album; playing it in soundchecks on our last tour before it was finished and hearing how it sounded in those big rooms and outdoors.”

ALPHA GAMES tracklisting:Bloc Party - Alpha Games

  1. Day Drinker
  2. Traps
  3. You Should Know the Truth
  4. Callum Is a Snake
  5. Rough Justice
  6. The Girls Are Fighting
  7. Of Things Yet to Come
  8. Sex Magik
  9. By Any Means Necessary
  10. In Situ
  11. If We Get Caught
  12. The Peace Offering

To celebrate the release of ALPHA GAMESBloc Party will be touring the UK and Europe in May and June 2022, including a homecoming show at London’s Alexandra Palace. It will be their first tour since their huge 2019 shows, where they performed their seminal debut album SILENT ALARM in full across the UK, Europe and North America.

Click here for more Bloc Party