Chances Are – Born Yesterday: 13th Floor New Song Of The Day

Today Chances Are share Born Yesterday, the final single to be released from their forthcoming debut Asleep At The Wheel Of Love, out digitally on April 11 via Sunreturn.

Here is the blurb with more:

Chances AreAlexander Grant, Lliam Powell and Maté Vella make up the recording project Chances Are.

Spread between Tūranganui-a-Kiwa, Tāmaki Makaurau and London, Chances Are create contemplative and poetic post-punk, filled with motorik drum machines, alternative guitar tunings, synthesised strings and collaged field recordings. The band’s members have a long lineage in Aotearoa’s recent musical history featuring in Trust Punks, Cool Cult and Long Distance Runner.

Born Yesterday is Chances Are’s most ‘straight forward’ song yet. Synthesised organs whir with tremolo, while bass punctuates through wiry guitars that maintain unusual time signatures. At its run time of 03:22 it’s notably brisk compared to its album counterparts.

Looking back this song feels like an implicit yet direct reaction to Asleep at the Wheel of Love,” says Grant. “I wanted to write something that had – at the very least – the bones of a straightforward pop song.”

“Lyrically… it may not be news to anyone else but I realised that it’s not necessarily a terrible thing to overthink every situation I’m faced with. I decided to write about inviting the associated fears and anxieties in and interrogating them, no matter how ugly it made me feel and however disruptive it felt. An attempt at therapy I guess. In hindsight I can soundly say it was an unsuccessful one.”

Born Yesterday was mixed and mastered by the legendary Mikey Young (the revered musician and engineer known for his work with Australian groups Total Control and Eddy Current Suppression Ring), and is the final single to be released from Asleep At The Wheel Of Love (out April 11 on Sunreturn).

Asleep At The Wheel Of Love

Released digitally on April 11, 2024

1. You Gotta Do What You Gotta Do
2. Dining Room, 2001
3. Peach
4. Companion
5. Born Yesterday
6. Asleep At The Wheel Of Love