Congratulations Reb Fountain! Taite Music Prize Winner 2021

We here at The 13th Floor are thrilled to tell you that Reb Fountain has won this year’s Taite Music Prize! Watch our post awards interviews and photos here.

Taite Music PrizeThe 13th Floor’s Marty Duda attended last night’s award ceremony at Auckland’s Q Theatre and spoke to the two winning acts announced on the night…Na Noise (Best Independent Debut) and Reb Fountain (Taite Music Prize 2021) immediately after they claimed their awards.

Watch Na Noise and Reb here:

The ceremony itself was an emotional event with many in the audience brought to tears during the performance of surviving members of the Patea Maori Club who won the Classic Record Award for Poi E.

Last year’s winner (and this year’s finalist) Troy Kingi and his band rocked the house, then Na Noise and Reb Fountain took home the trophies.

Click on any image to view a photo gallery of the night’s action.

Here are the ten finalists:

Anna Coddington – Beams (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
L.A.B – L.A.B IV (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
Nadia Reid – Out Of My Province (Slow Time Records)
Reb Fountain – Reb Fountain (Flying Nun Records)
Ria Hall – Manawa Wera (Loop Recordings Aot(ear)oa)
Tami Neilson – Chickaboom! (Neilson Records)
The Beths – Jump Rope Gazers (Carpark Records)
The Phoenix Foundation – Friend Ship (The Phoenix Foundation Ltd. / Universal NZ)
Troy Kingi – The Ghost of Freddie Cesar (AAA Records)
Wax Chattels РClot (Flying Nun Records)

And the three albums nominated for the 2021Auckland Live Best Independent Debut Award:

Amamelia – WOW! (Sunreturn)
Dick Move – Chop! (1:12 Records)
Na Noise – Waiting For You (1:12 Records)