Death and Vanilla – Looking Glass: New Song Of The Day

Death and Vanilla reveal new single, Looking Glass, from new album, Flicker, due out March 17th.

Here’s the word from Fire Records:

Death and VanillaPresenting their unique pop music that defies categorization, Death And Vanilla release new single ‘Looking Glass’ from their new album Flicker set for release on 17th March on Fire Records.

New track ‘Looking Glass’ unzips with a slow paced intro, it’s organic, a grower that goes modal and multi-layered behind Marleen Nilsson’s evocative vocals; like a fevered Fleetwood Mac dream, lingering in the sub conscious with luscious melodies from the post-future.

Housed in a beautifully austere post-ironic de-constructed sleeve, ‘Flicker’ is a modern reflection on these difficult times. World crises and lockdowns notwithstanding, Death And Vanilla return reborn, re-arranged and revitalised after assimilating dub reggae, the motorik spirals of Can, the modal meander of Philip Glass and The Cure’s dreamier pop sounds; plus the twice removed symphonic ambience of Spiritualized and Talking Heads under heavy manners from Brian Eno. By osmosis their period of transition since 2019’s much darker ‘Are You A Dreamer?’ has hatched new eclectic electronica anthems riddled with melody lines, and layered for lush love.

It’s been ten years since Death And Vanilla formed in Malmö, Sweden, Marleen Nilsson and Anders Hansson and Magnus Bodin – fashioned by the city’s austere industrial past and flat pack present, all in the shadow of the Oresund Bridge that links their dreamworld to mainland Europe and a darker reality.

“Dreampop that floats your celestial boat.. recalling late 60’s Californian psych and 90s shoegaze.” Prog

Death And Vanilla at once sound like everything is possible; but nothing else at all.

There is a flicker of hope for everyone.

  Track List
1  Out For Magic
2  Baby Snakes
3  Find Another Illusion
4  Perpetuum Mobile
5  Looking Glass
6  Mercury’s Rising
7  Fearless
8  Transparent Things
9  Perpetuum – Reprise

Pre-order New Album Now