Joy Crookes – Powerstation July 24, 2022 (Concert Review)

Joy Crookes was loving the alien at Auckland’s Powerstation last night and the crowd was giving plenty of love right back at her.

Joy CrookesThe alien in question was a pink, inflatable balloon that a fan waved wildly at Joy and who Joy commented on, speculating on how the alien-toting fan started the day:

“I woke up, said I’m gonna see Joy, so I’m gonna bring the green alien”.

Extra-terrestrial fans aside, this turned out to be a wonderful, warm evening despite the storm brewing outside.

Liyah KnightLiyah Knight

Things kicked off with Australian singer Liyah Knight who warmed us up with tunes from her two Eps, beginning with a jazzy, Better Unsaid, from 2020’s Nesting. Liyah was accompanied by “Crystal” on keys and together they had the crowd’s attention setting the tone for the evening.

Joy Cookes

Joy CrookesOn the eve of the 11th anniversary of the death of Amy Winehouse, it seemed only right and just to be experiencing Joy Crookes on stage. The 23-year-old Londoner’s sound can best be described as “post-Amy Winehouse” with a bit of Macy Gray thrown in for good measure.

Joy’s set began with I Don’t Mind, the opening track from her debut album, Skin, and instantly the crowd (of mostly young women) went nuts.

Joy seemed genuinely surprised and moved by the crowd’s response. The energy coming from the audience is palpable and tune number two, Trouble, gets an immediate singalong.

From there its no turning back.

This is going to be a monumental gig with artist and audience in perfect synch.

Joy and her band performed every song, bar one, from Skin while tossing in a cover of Kendrick Lamar’s Yah/Element and a couple of choice cuts from her Eps.

By the time we get to the propulsive Kingdom, the energy level at The Powerstation was off the charts.

Feet Don’t Fail Me Now and Theek Ache brought things to a close, but only temporarily as Joy returned with Two Nights and a crowd-pleasing When You Were Mine to finally bring things to an end.

By then, there was a storm blowing hard outside, but it was nothing compared to the quiet storm Joy and Liyah generated indoors.

Marty Duda

Click on any image to view a photo gallery by Ivan Karczewski:

Joy Crookes:

Liyah Knight:

Joy Crookes Setlist:

  1. I Don’t Mind
  2. Trouble
  3. Wild Jazmine
  4. To Lose Someone
  5. Poison
  6. Don’t Let Me Down
  7. Skin
  8. 19th Floor
  9. Yah/Element
  10. Power
  11. Kingdom
  12. Feet Don’t Fail Me Now
  13. Theek Ache
  14. Two Nights
  15. When You Were Mine