Mild Orange – F.E.A.R, 13th Floor’s new Song Of The Day

Mild Orange unveil their highly-anticipated third album LOOKING FOR SPACE, an 11-track masterpiece of stunning indie-pop lead by groovy new single, F.E.A.R.

Check out this new lead single from Mild Orange! Mild OrangeHere is the blurb with all the details.

Aotearoa’s indie-pop dream team Mild Orange have today released their highly-anticipated third album LOOKING FOR SPACE, with the fun and dreamy lead single ‘F.E.A.R’.

Mild Orange LOOKING FOR SPACE is an 11-track masterpiece of stunning indie-pop, in which the four-piece (MehrtJoshTom and Jack) tear apart the four walls that defined their unique bedroom pop sound, capturing the wilderness that lays beyond. The album explores a world beyond lockdown, visioning spaces through washes of trailing echo and supple electric guitar. Recorded in beach houses, bedrooms, and for the first time, a recording studio, the band worked with Paddy Hill at Roundhead Studio on a number of tracks; expanding the music into new sonic and emotive territory.

“Mild Orange has mastered the art of making music for the nostalgic” – BILLBOARD

“This was our first time working on Mild Orange tracks in a premier studio, and having all that epic gear at our fingertips, coupled with having Paddy’s tech-wizardry engineering abilities on hand definitely jumped us up in quality and texture,” frontman/producer Josh “Mehrt” Mehrtens says.

Groove-filled, fun, with scattered Star Wars lyrical references, the new lead single ‘F.E.A.R’ stands for Forget Everything And Relax; a message the quartet live by.

“All of us are surely guilty of letting fear dictate our decisions, and this can be good to many degrees as a defense mechanism that protects us from making costly choices, but sometimes it prevents us from leaving our comfort zones which in turn can allow us to grow”, exclaims Mehrt.
The video for ‘F.E.A.R’ will be released Friday February 18.

Mild Orange are undoubtedly one of New Zealand music’s most successful exports of the last few years. Their music has resonated with fans everywhere, with streaming numbers soaring beyond 100 million; enabling them to tour their powerful live show around the globe. Back on home soil, they continue to sell out shows and prove just why their goal of making “timeless, while timely; universal, though personal; nostalgic, yet ever-evolving” music is a winning recipe.

Unable to tour Aotearoa due to Covid restrictions, Mild Orange are currently overseas and this week kicked off their world tour, selling out shows in London.

Dive into LOOKING FOR SPACE to discover how Mild Orange aren’t just looking for space, they’re carving out grand landscapes all their own.


“New Zealand’s dreamiest indie-pop band” – MONSTER CHILDREN

“wonderful energetic summer bummer psychedelic rock” – ZAN ROWE, DOUBLE J

LOOKING FOR SPACE – tracklist:
  1. Colourise
  2. F.E.A.R
  3. The Time Of Our Lives
  4. This Kinda Day
  5. Oh Yeah
  6. What’s Your Fire?
  7. Take A Moment (interlude)
  8. Aurora
  9. Hollywood Dreams
  10. Music.
  11. Photographics