New Song Of The Day: Death Cab For Cutie – Gold Rush

Today, it’s new music from Death Cab For Cutie.

The band has a new album, Thank You For Today, due out August 17th. The first single, Gold Rush has just been released along with a video. Here’s the record company blurb:

Death Cab for Cutie has officially announced the release of their upcoming ninth studio album; THANK YOU FOR TODAY to be released on August 17.

The first single, ‘Gold Rush’, off the upcoming album has been released to time with the album announcement and is accompanied by an official video. The video for ‘Gold Rush’ is directed by Alex Southam (alt-J, Mumford & Sons) and features Ben Gibbard performing the song amidst an increasingly crowded cityscape.

The album was produced and mixed by Rich Costey (Fiona Apple, Franz Ferdinand, Muse), who also produced the band’s last album the Grammy-nominatedKINTSUGITHANK YOU FOR TODAY marks the first Death Cab for Cutie release to see long time bandmates Gibbard, Nick Harmer, and Jason McGerr joined in the studio by new members Dave Depper (Menomena, Fruit Bats, Corin Tucker, Ray Lamontagne) and Zac Rae (My Brightest Diamond, Fiona Apple, Lana Del Rey, Gnarls Barkley). Depper and Rae have both been part of Death Cab’s touring band since 2015.

Death Cab for Cutie’s last studio album, KINTSUGI, made a remarkable chart debut upon its March 2015 release, debuting at #1 on Billboard’s ‘Top Alternative Albums’ and ‘Top Rock Albums’ charts, as well as #8 on the overall SoundScan/Billboard 200. Hailed by Magnet as perhaps ‘the best record of (Death Cab for Cuties’s) 17-year career,’ the album was honoured with a ‘Best Rock Album’ nomination for the 58th Annual Grammy Awards – the iconic band’s eighth overall nod.

Pre-order THANK YOU FOR TODAY here: