New Song Of The Day: Passenger – Why Can’t I Change

Mike Rosenberg, aka Passenger, has released a new track and video – Why Can’t I Change – from his forthcoming 10th studio album Runaway, due for release Friday, August 31 via Black Crow Records.

Here’s the record company blurb:

Following the epic, radio-friendly sound represented by his international number one single ‘Let Her Go’, RUNAWAY finds Passenger delivering catchy and unforgettable melodies.

Recorded between the UK and Australia with co-producer, Chris Vallejo (INXS, Empire Of The Sun, Josh Pyke), the 10-track album follows a North American aesthetic, with the lyrics detailing a connection with such places as Detroit and Yellowstone to name a few.

Sonically, RUNAWAY also draws on Americana, including the early work of Ryan Adams. It includes some lap steel, mandolin and a little banjo, all courtesy of Benjamin Edgar. Rosenberg is also joined on the album by bassist Rob Calder, drummer Peter Marin and keyboard player Jon Hansen.

RUNAWAY features tracks including ‘Ghost Town’, a ballad about the demise of the motor industry in Detroit; ‘To Be Free’, the penultimate track on the album about Rosenberg’s grandparents who were Jewish refugees who moved to America after the war. The album closes with the track ‘Survivors’. “That’s about a few things,” Rosenberg recalls, “living in 2018, with climate change and Donald Trump and everything else. But also life and love, all the big questions. So it’s about navigating through life. Surviving.

Passenger also recently unveiled an acoustic live video of Hell Or High Water’, his lead single and the opening track on the album.

Passenger has come a long way since the release of his first album, WICKED MAN’S REST, back in 2007. The initial carnation was followed by his reinvention as a solo artist, a period of busking and a year-long tour in support of Ed Sheeran. And then ‘Let Her Go’ followed, the song for which Rosenberg won an Ivor Novello.

RUNAWAY is out Friday August 31 and is available for pre-order now!


RUNAWAY Tracklisting:
1.   Hell Or High Water
2.   Why Can’t I Change
3.   Heart To Love
4.   Let’s Go
5.   Eagle Bear Buffalo
6.   Ghost Town
7.   Runaway
8.   He Leaves You Cold
9.   To Be Free
10.  Survivors