Park Rd – Call Me Up: 13th Floor New Song Of The Day

Indie-rockers PARK RD have announced their debut album THE NOVEL will be released on Friday May 24. Pre-save and pre-order the limited-edition vinyl HERE. This exciting announcement is accompanied by the release of the anthemic single ‘Call Me Up’, which continues the trend of their festival-ready hooks that will get stuck in your head.

Here is the blurb with more:

Park RdThis track follows the previous album singles ‘Every Night’Secrets, and ‘Ride’.  ‘Call Me Up’ arrives alongside a coming-of-age music video.

“‘Call Me Up’ was the last song from the album. During the album’s recording process, quite often when Leo wasn’t needed, he would be in another room cooking up something on his computer,” says lead vocalist Tom Chamberlain. 

“One afternoon Carlos and I came in and Leo was working on the start of this song. I remember dancing around the room and Carlos started singing the chorus melody using the lyrics “Bring it back”We forgot about the song until months later when I was at home playing some chords on the piano which reminded me of the song. I suddenly remembered all the melodies and started singing ‘Call Me Up’ over the chorus melody. The song is about getting ready before a night out, sometimes getting ready is just as fun as the night out for me.”

Following their debut Australian shows last year for SXSW Sydney, PARK RD will return to Australia this May-June to support The Rions on their massive Australian tour alongside Blusher.

THE NOVEL is a testament to PARK RD’s evolution as musicians and individuals and offers listeners an intimate glimpse into their heads and hearts. Reflecting on the album, the band shares, “It feels like its own little world. The main theme of the album is definitely love.”

Throughout the creative process, they embraced an array of influences and techniques resulting in a collection of songs that are different from each other, yet always sound like PARK RDOnce we had all the main instruments, we would add ‘the vibes’ and sprinkle little details like synths or guitar parts that only happen once in the song,” the band reveals.

PARK RD have established themselves as one of NZ’s most exciting new bands, off the back of two EPs, a series of singles, and killer live shows. The past 12 months have seen the band perform at festivals such as SXSW SydneyRhythm & Vines, Soundsplash & Le Currents, and support The Band CAMINO, Milky Chance, Spacey Jane, and Summer Thieves.

1. June
2. Secrets
3. Call Me Up
4. Hey, Hello
5. Save The Planet
6. Asleep:Awake
7. Postcard
8. Did It Anyway
9. Tonight, I
10. Ride
11. I Don’t Wanna Know
12. The Novel
13. Every Night

Tom Chamberlain – Vocals
Angus Hampton-Carr – Lead Guitar
Leo Crawshaw-Bond – Guitar / Vocals
Carlos Martin – Bass
Te Kapua Pene – Drums