Tiny Ruins – Dogs Dreaming: New Song Of The Day

Tiny Ruins releases new song, Dogs Dreaming today. It’s taken from their fourth album, Ceremony, due out April 28th and we have tour dates!

Here’s the blurb with more including just announced tour dates:
Tiny Ruins

To celebrate the upcoming release of their fourth album, Ceremony, Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland based Tiny Ruins will embark on an eight-date headline tour around Aotearoa this Autumn. Ceremony, out April 28th, is the much-anticipated follow-up to 2019’s celebrated Olympic Girls – a finalist for the Taite Music Prize.

Tiny RuinsToday, the band share a new track, ‘Dogs Dreaming,’ one of most exuberant offerings thus far from Tiny Ruins. Alex Freer’s drums lay a particularly playful bedrock amidst rippling organ and strong, unyielding vocals from Fullbrook. Deft clusters of Cass Basil’s bass notes free-wheel between floating and sliding, while Tom Healy’s spirited guitar flourishes and additional vocals lace the song with a sort of mid-80s nostalgia. ‘Dogs Dreaming‘ was written on a solo expedition to the Āwhitu Peninsula, when Hollie Fullbroook surveyed the isolated lighthouse alone at dusk, freaking herself out in the process.


A rare blend of eloquent lyrical craft and explorative musicianship, the songs of Tiny Ruins are etched into the memories of crowds and critics worldwide. Traversing influences that cross genre and era, the artistry of Hollie Fullbrook and her band spans delicate folk, lustrous dream pop and ebullient psychedelia.

Building on the sparse arrangements and a novelist’s eye for detail cultivated over the past several years, the group’s greatly anticipated fourth album is out on Ba Da Bing RecordsMarathon Artists, Courtney Barnett’s label Milk! Records, and the band’s own imprint Ursa Minor in New Zealand. If Olympic Girls was an album suffused with existential emptiness, portraits often sketched from afar or in empty buildings, Ceremony zooms right in, unafraid of intimacy and connection.

Now over a decade in, Hollie Fullbrook’s evolution as Tiny Ruins has reached an apex of power, as she’s become a deft bandleader of incredible musicians. Ceremony has many moods, ranging from intense minimalist ‘Diving & Soaring‘ that evokes a classic folk vibe through to the heavier Neil Young-inspired ‘Dorothy Bay‘, bop ‘In Light of Everything‘, and the hooky, uplifting ‘Dogs Dreaming‘.

Noodly 70s electric guitars, eclectic percussion and prominent bass might make it their most listenable and accessible album to date. The songs are all of a theme – exploring the coastal shores of the Manukau Harbour and working through a psychological ‘shellscape’, while tending toward a joyful / hopeful take on the passing of time. Ceremony is the band’s highest achievement, an album about confronting confusion, loss, dislocation and ultimately realising the beauty of life’s unpredictable paths.
Pre-Save HERE
Pre-Order: HERE
Bandcamp Link: HERE

Tiny RuinsCeremony Tracklisting: 

1. Dogs Dreaming
2. Daylight Savings
3. Driving & Soaring
4. In Light Of Everything
5. Out Of Phase
6. Dorothy Bay
7. Seafoam Green
8. Earthly Things
9. Dear Annie
10. Sounds Like
11. The Crab/Waterbaby

Tiny Ruins online

Official / Facebook Instagram / YouTube / Bandcamp / Twitter