Video Exclusive: Carnivorous Plant Society – Lovers In An Apocalypse

Leading up to the release of their new album on March 16th, titled The New King, Carnivorous Plant Society have whipped up a wonderful little video clip for the song Lovers In An Apocalypse.

The animated video was created by bandleader Finn Scholes. Finn sent The 13th Floor this brief comment about the clip:

“Lovers In An Apocalypse is a short story about two lovers trapped in a bunker during an alien invasion. They are so in love that they aren’t phased by the destruction of the world above them.”

“I drew the pictures by hand on many pieces of paper which I then scanned and coloured on the computer. I’m sure modern technology allows for a quicker way to do this but learning how to use computers is not as much fun as just getting stuck in. The music is a piece for vibraphone and violin which we often perform with the video during a quiet moment in our otherwise quite full-on set.”

Carnivorous Plant Society – The New King Tour

23 March, Titirangi Music Festival – tickets at Eventbrite

30 + 31 March, Waiheke Jazz Festival – tickets at iTicket

6 April Napier – Sitting Room Session, contact for tickets

7 April, Moon, Wellington – tickets at

13 April, Tuning Fork, Auckland (with Eb & Sparrow) – tickets from

14 April, Butter Factory, Whangarei – free show!

15 April, Leigh Sawmill – tickets at

Get all tour information at

The New King tracklisting –

  1. Carp in a Pond

  2. Car Dance

  3. Swamp Bossa

  4. Dry Spell

  5. The New King

  6. The Fashionable Bee

  7. Don’t Go Outside

  8. Spaceship Romance

  9. Best Friends

  10. Lovers in an Apocalypse

  11. It Has One Eye

  12. Journey of the Sacred Crystal

  13. The Goat and the Pussycat

  14. Temple Kiss

Album Credits –

Finn Scholes – trumpet, tuba, keyboards, pitched percussion

Alistair Deverick – drums

Cass Basil – bass, vocals

Siobhanne Thompson – violin, vocals

Tam Scholes – guitar

Hollie Fullbrook – vocals (Car Dance & Don’t Go Outside)

Lawrence Arabia – vocals (It Has One Eye)

Don McGlashan – vocals (Don’t Go Outside)

Hayden Eastmond-Mein – vocals (It Has One Eye)

Jeff Scholes – fable reading

Music, lyrics & fables written by Finn Scholes

Produced by Alistair Deverick

All rhythm tracks recorded at Paquin Studios by Tom Healy

Overdubs elsewhere 2016-2017

Mixed by Alistair Deverick with help from Tom Healy

Mastered by Olly Harmer

Artwork by Finn Scholes