Lilly Hiatt – Been :13th Floor New Song Of The Day

Lilly Hiatt releases Been today and brings news of a new album, Lately, due in October.

We here at 13th Floor are Hiatt fans…check out our interview with Lilly’s dad, John Hiatt here. Here’s the lowdown on the latest from Lilly from New West Records:

Lilly Hiatt will return with Lately on October 15th via New West Records. The 10-song
set was co-produced by Lilly and her drummer Kate Haldrup at Death Ladder in East
Nashville, TN.

Lately is a record I wrote to share some of where I’ve been with you. Whenever songs happen for me, they are like photographs of time.”

Lately will be released on cassette October 8, and digitally October 15. Pre-order or pre-save now.

In celebration of “Cassette Week,” the cassette version of the album will
be released a week early on Friday, October 8th.

Lately is the follow up to Hiatt’s critically acclaimed Walking Proof, which was among the first records released to feel the full wrath of the soon-to-be raging pandemic that would bring the world to its knees.

Lilly HiattLilly HiattDespite the timing of its release, the long player was named a “Best Album of the Year”
by Rolling Stone, No Depression, Magnet Magazine, Slant Magazine and more.
NPR Music called Lilly “…one of the great 21st Century Southern Rockers,” saying,
“…she’s a striving, self-made heroine of country-accented indie rock” while Rolling
Stone said “Hiatt proves herself to be Nashville’s indie-rocker-to-watch on this
collection of Big Star-worthy jangle anthems and introspective psych-folk.”

Rolling Stone Country called the album “…exhilarating…” saying, “At once electrifying and
dreamy, the follow-up to Hiatt’s breakout Trinity Lane cements her as a vital voice.”
Pitchfork said, “…Walking Proof winds through moments of incandescent joy,
gentleness, cathartic noise, and even unease…It’s as if Hiatt has emerged from a dark,
uncertain period as a stronger, bolder artist, winding up with an album that
encompasses a full spectrum of feeling as it rocks with abandon” while Paste
Magazine said in their 8 out of 10 star review, “This is music to liberate yourself to.”

Lilly HiattAs each day passed following the release of Walking Proof, more events were
postponed, moved, and ultimately canceled. The sudden stillness forced Lilly to take a
long, deep look inside and despite having a new album just released, she went back to
doing what she does best: she picked up the guitar and started to write. What could have
been devastating ended up being therapeutic, and Lilly learned how to find fulfillment in
quieter places versus the adrenalized life she was used to.

Lilly says, “Last year was tough. That’s an understatement for certain. Tears were shed,
lives were lost, and lonely was a way of life. I have always felt lonely, but never gone to
the depths of solitude that I had in 2020. The irony of that is, I was not alone at all in
that space. Everyone had lost something, and we all were trying to rebuild our lives as
we knew them. As a means of keeping sane, I started to write songs. Some of them
sucked. I kept doing it though, because I had nothing else to fill my cup.”

Lilly HiattShe continues, “Depression was a big part of fall and winter. I forgot how down I could feel. But I also felt hope in that light that came from a memory of a past adventure or a stranger’s smile while walking down the street. Little things lifted my spirits. I missed my friends. I missed my family. I was devastated by the grief our country was facing, as well as the world. I felt unified in knowing that I was not on my own in that mentality. Many were questioning a lot of what was happening and though ideologies and understandings
were fractured and opposing, most people I know craved to be together again. I realized
that my heart was full of everything I loved and that would carry me forward for the
time being. Eventually we would all get back to one another.”

By opening up about her fears and anxiety and having taken a big step back, Lilly Hiatt
learned more about herself than she could have ever realized. Which is what great
songwriters do.

Lilly HiattLilly Hiatt’s Lately will be available across digital platforms and on cassette. Lately is
available for pre-order NOW via New West Records.
Lilly Hiatt Lately Track Listing:
1. Simple
2. Been
3. Lately
4. Stop
5. Peach
6. Ride
7. Face
8. Better
9. Gem
10. The Last Tear
Click here for more Lilly Hiatt