New Music Friday: 13th Floor New Album Picks: June 7, 2024

Its the first New Music Friday of June and there is no shortage of new releases to sift through. After great effort and thought, here are The 13th Floor’s top 5 picks from today’s bounty of new music.

The 13th Floor’s Marty Duda picks these five new releases for your consideration:

  1. Georgia LinesGeorgia LinesThe Rose Of Jericho (Nahla & Nahla) The debut album by AMA winner Georgia Lines is a no-brainer for our top pick. Georgia was just awarded a Tui for “Best Pop Artist” last week and she follows that with this gen of a long player. Here’s what Georgia says about the album: “The past few years have been some of the hardest years of my life. Ones that have been full of grief, loss and pain. As I have allowed myself to sit in those spaces and brave the fears of voicing the pain, I’ve written this album. Which I am deeply proud of.”  And here’s what we say about it.

Bonny Light Horseman2. Bonny Light HorsemanKeep Me On Your Mind/Set You Free (Jagjaguwar) A double album and a double title from this, the third album by this indie supergroup comprised of Anaïs Mitchell, Eric D. Johnson, and Josh Kaufman. They call it, an ode to the blessed mess of our humanity.” Much of it was recorded in a pub in Ireland, although its not a live album. “It has this sense of history; it’s also small, and crammed with a bunch of stuff that’s spilling all over the place,” says Kaufman. “It was like the pub version of our band.” Check out the 13th Floor interview with two of the three members of Bonny Light Horseman.

Mel Parsons3. Mel Parsons Sabotage (Cape Road) Another Kiwi award-winner releases another thing of beauty. Sabotage is Mel Parsons’ 6th album, one she recorded solely with the help of producer Josh Logan. “It was a different process to making  previous records – a more collaborative vibe in that it was just two of us who put the whole thing together,” she explains. “We jumped around on the instrumentation – I played guitars and some drums, Josh played everything else, and together we pulled the tracks into some kind of song form.” Learn more about the making of Sabotage by watching the 13th Floor interview with Mel Parsons.  

Eels4. The EelsEels Time! (E Works/PIAS) Holy cow, this is the 15th studio album from The Eels! Eels Time! features 12 all-new tracks, and was helmed by principal singer-songwriter Mark Oliver Everett, who collaborated with artists like Koool G Murder, The Chet, Tyson Ritter, Sean Coleman, and more. The Eels haven’t let us down so far, and here they continue their winning ways.

Logan Lynn5. Logan LynnSOFTCORE (Kill Rock Stars) This is the 11th album from the musician, writer, producer, filmmaker, television personality, mental health advocate and LGBT activist. Brimming with commanding, danceable sex positivity and with a title like SOFTCORE, you might assume that Logan is going straight for sexuality with the new collection. But it’s about so much more. It’s about how warmth can make way for strength, how going through one of the hardest experiences of your life doesn’t have to make you hard. “In the midst of this stuff that hardens us up as people, things that have historically sent me spiraling or sent me out to be in solitude, I want to stay soft, I want to stay open and sexy,” says Logan. Watch for a 13th Floor interview with Logan, coming soon.